Land Watch Asia - Issue Brief N.2

Engaging the ASEAN: Toward a Regional Advocacy on Land Rights



The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries, namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined on 8 January 1984; Vietnam, on 28 July 1995; Lao PDR and Myanmar, on 23 July 1997; and Cambodia, on 30 April 1999.