Land Watch Asia Issue Brief N.1

The establishment of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is based on the idea that “in an increasingly independent world, the objectives of peace, freedom, social justice and economic prosperity are best achieved by fostering mutual understanding, good neighborly relations and meaningful cooperation among the member states, which are bound by ties of history and culture”. SAARC is comprised of seven countries: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.